• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Joanne
    Mojave Outlaw
    • Jul 2009

Closing mines in the name of "safety'

Hi all,

I wrote the following "rant" about a week ago but decided not to post it. This evening I read about the BLM "Inquiry" of Mojave Underground and decided I would go ahead and post it.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

As I posted in my introduction my interest in mines goes back a long way, but I'm new to mine penetration and exploration. I know that I haven't paid my dues and earned the right to write this rant but the libertarian in me wouldn't let me hold it in. I hope you don't mind me posting it.

I'm a believer in personal freedom and the responsibility that comes with that freedom. In that light, here are my thoughts on the risks of mine exploration and closures in the name of "safety".

The Risks of Mine Exploration

There is a movement by governmental agencies to bulldoze or blast closed as many old mines as possible. As with so many things the government does, it is in the name of "pubic safety". Closing the mines will keep some idiots from proving the validity of Darwin's theory, but at what cost? Is there historical value in these old mine works that is worth saving? Do they constitute a recreational resource for those interested in old mines? I say "yes" to both of these questions.