X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • go_browns79
    Mojave Cowboy
    • Aug 2010

Sultan & Tecopa

It was a couple good days of exploring. I had a trip planned on wednesday to go to Tecopa with my friends Ben and Dain. The day before we were all together helping Dain move and when we were done Ben said " Why do we have to wait till tomorrow ? Let's go tonight ! " so off to Goodsprings we went. Since I tend to be lazy I still had all my gear, in my truck from the trip a couple weeks ago to Tecopa. We got to the Sultan and dragged all my gear to the same inclined shaft that Joanne went to http://www.mojaveunderground.com/for...ghlight=sultan

It was about 150' down and I was glad I had my gear on. I've been a carpenter for 13 years and know when I'm on a bad ladder. Even though some of the rungs on the ladder have been replaced, where the ladders connect to each other and the shaft were pretty weak. After getting to the bottom I found the giant ore chute, it was pretty impressive.

I climbed up the ladder that lead to a huge stope and immediately found a few treasures

After looking around a pile of "trash" I found a old blasting cap tin

I continued exploring up the stope and was able to get to with in 25' of the bottom of bridge. I kick up so much dust it was nearly impossible for me to get any pics. Along the way I did find a nice wheelbarrow.

On one of the upper levels I came across an interesting work bench.

This was on the bench, does anyone know what the hell it is ? It's been puzzling me ever since I saw it.

We got home from Goodsprings about midnight, got a good nights sleep and headed out to Tecopa about 11 the next morning. My 2 friends have been to a couple small mines but nothing like Tecopa. First I took them over to the incline at War Eagle and we explored all the levels.

Then we headed to my favorite area.