• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ryan162
    Advanced Explorer
    Mojave Miner
    • Feb 2009

thoughts on members only section of the forums

whats are peoples thoughts on having a private section of the forums to discuss more details of mines?

i really go back and forth on the subject myself since im new to the hobby and would have had nothing to go on if it weren't for bits of info gleamed from places like this and other websites. but at the same time mines have been vandalized, burned, robbed, and other unfortunate things and i cant help but think those things happen from the availability of info on the internet. a quick google for bighorn mine, and every gangster can grab his spray paint, follow detailed directions and even get an map of the interior on the mine lol. on my trip there i encountered 2-3 other groups of people inside the mine and 3-4 other groups either leaving or going to the mine. thats a mine that is not on the side of the road or visible from a car....its a 45 minute, moderately difficult, hike to the other side of a mountain...its just got tons of detailed info about it on the internet.

the first website i stumbled upon when looking for info on mines was http://www.socalfunplaces.com/topic_desert.htm if you read his site he has purposely concealed the locations of everything he has shown.
    Update on the "Bonanza Powder" mine:
    If anybody ever wonders why I hide the names of these mines and refuse to give out location info, above is an updated picture of the entrance to this mine - sombody decided to burn the timbers and completely cave it all in. There are no other entrances to this mine - its interior is hidden behind who knows how many tons of rubble forever. This was a real good one too. PLEASE - enjoy my photos and don't ask me where I was when I took them.
    i myself havnt posted as much as id like to in this forum because
    -im not sure in my ignorance if i was trespassing in some situations.