X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Brahmabull1018
    Mojave Cowboy
    • Mar 2013

ophir hill mine

Hi all. I am new to this site. I was very excited to find this site, as I did not know there were many people out there that were interested in mine exploration. I thought everybody else just wanted to close them all down. My main question here is are there any mines in the ophir area that aren't closed that are safe to explore? If so can you tell me what the names are? Also I have always wanted to get into the Ophir Hill mine, but it is obviously gated off. Does anybody know how one would go about getting access to that mine and any surrounding mines that are gated, or does a gate mean permanent closure? Pardon my ignorance here, again I am new to this but have been in several mines and caves in the area (a few years back). Any help and suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!
    Pale Death beats equally at the poor man's gate and at the palaces of Kings.

- Horace
  • Jeff
    Advanced Explorer
    Mojave Miner
    • Nov 2008

Welcome to MU, The Ophir Hill is a patented claim and is privately owned. Due to liability reasons getting access to the mine is limited to personal friends and family of the owner. There are several patented and non patented claims in the Ophir area most of which have been gated. You may however find an entrance that was missed during reclamation or a gate that has been compromised.
    Jeff
    Mojave Mine Team
    Follow me on Facebook

Comment

• Brahmabull1018
      Mojave Cowboy
      • Mar 2013

Originally posted by Jeff
      Welcome to MU, The Ophir Hill is a patented claim and is privately owned. Due to liability reasons getting access to the mine is limited to personal friends and family of the owner. There are several patented and non patented claims in the Ophir area most of which have been gated. You may however find an entrance that was missed during reclamation or a gate that has been compromised.